Posted on


ANINOKO – Ugat LP… ESN034 / Aklasan Records / Mutilated Noise

ANINOKO wreck the building with their latest full-length, Ugat.  Raw, fast and agitated – this 11-song record captures the energy and fervor of their sound and discourse.  Deranged guitars collide with crashing drum rolls to begin this flurry of pissed off refrain with their opener, “Aircon”, a temperature check on class disparity.  Spitfire vocals shrill through songs of struggle, action, and hope with “Anino Ni Al Robles” and “Anak Diaspora.”  Aninoko fiercely delivers all lyrics in their native tongue with urgency and an 80s spirited attack.  Cultural frustrations of power expelled in “Kawalan” and songs of the immigrant experience and solidarity with “FUCK I.C.E.” continue the wrath of Ugat.  Aninoko is vital to a Filipino community they helped bring together through Aklasan Records (San Francisco) and Mutilated Noise (Makati City, Philippines) who are also part of this release.  Ugat is a must-have from this Bay Area force, and we could not be prouder.